Self-Reflection and Writing

The 147th day in a journey for a healthy life

Fat Fit
5 min readFeb 21, 2024

The state I am in these days is something to be grateful for. I think I lived through something similar when I was on my third college year. I don’t remember the details well. However, the peaceful feeling about the world and how easy going I was at the time was blissful. I didn’t have any anxieties or worries. I walked steadily through everyday life. It all started with having a moment with myself in my room. I was having issues with the stats and probabilities course and its teacher. My father shouted on me and called me ignorant to struggle with something as easy as probabilities. I wasn’t struggling to be honest. I didn’t even bother to study that module, because I didn’t like the two teachers who gave us the lectures.

Alone with the darkness.

A moment of self-reflect

I started following Jordan Peterson because he talks about this a lot. I liked and rewatched a motivational video curated from his lectures about the importance of time and self-reflection. A time you have with yourself alone in the darkness of your tiny room. You ask yourself some core questions about your goals and what you are doing to achieve them. Who are you? And who are you willing to become? Are you doing things you should do, that you must do to become that future you?

The self-reflection time I had on my third college year was very helpful. The goal I set back then, still my goal today. Until that moment, I was living for nothing to be honest. I was just imitating my father and what he works for. I didn’t think for myself to say the least.

People notice change

You feel the change usually in the beginning. Weeks later, you become what you changed to. You won’t see it but others do. What I love about the sayings of the prophet Muhammed peace be upon him is how accurate they are on describing some of our aspects of life. One saying suitable for what I want to say is: “The Muslim is the mirror of his brother in Islam.” You can replace Muslim with whatever word you want. The meaning is that you can see yourself in others or in their reactions and interactions with you. Sometimes, their direct feedback gives you an idea of your changing process. Is it for the better or to the worse. Of course, not all people are good enough to help you. You know them and you can avoid them. Actually, change let you filter your surrounding or people you network with.

Workout

I did the usual workout. I am still in my nineth day fasting. I feel the toll of fasting because my body is eating itself. I did ninety pushups yesterday for some reasons. I tried to push the limit a little further. However, it wasn’t good and the tiredness I felt during the day later on from dehydration was proof. I will try to stick to sixty for now.

Food

I broke my fasting with a feast to say the least. My wife was fasting the last Monday as well and she prepared something humongous. We had:

  • Crispy chicken wings.
  • Chicken legs cooked in three different ways.
  • Soup.
  • Rice with something.
  • Cabbage for salad.

Some other things I don’t recall. What I remember clearly though, is me having a second round with my wife after I went outside and returned after half an hour. We set and ate again and chatted until 23:20.

Reading Quotas

This is a section where you find about what I read for 15 minutes before writing my articles. Just a way to practice fast reading and learn from other authors and writer here on Medium or somewhere else.

Best time to publish

While searching on the best time to publish posts on Medium. Bing recommended or summarized this article from a WordPress plugin creator. Well, from the article the author emphasis that every type of content has a unique audience. Meaning, you have to see for yourself. Nonetheless, you can apply general rules of thumb on publishing. Like considering your audience time zone. Publishing during daytime or morning time. Avoid days of no action like weekends. Still even these general rules may change or apply differently for your audience. So, check your audience first.

Bing Summary of the searching results about the best time of publishing on Medium.

On the stupidity of Bing. The summary literally points to this article and another one published on Medium about the best time to post on social media. A totally different subject. The irony is how well that article did on Medium. It has absolutely nothing. Zero claps, Zero replies. How stupid a search engine can be? I may be wrong, but this is not the way to go. That’s why I use Google for most of my searching tasks.

Google search summary on the subject.

Google in the other hands shared a snippet from an article about the subject which is better than Bing. Whatever the others share about this. I think I am going my own strategy while adapting something from what I read meanwhile. I will share with you the results of our research.

I tried to go through the first results of Google. However, since all of them were Member-Only posts I couldn’t explore the whole thing. From their overview I compiled this even though they may continue to have other opinions.

Best times to publish on Medium.

Don’t forget to follow us for more stories and updates on our journey toward a healthier life. We are in our 147th day and the journey still in its beginning.

--

--

Fat Fit

🏋️‍♂️ Fitness journey sharer | Fat Fit Club founder | Let's achieve wellness together 💪 #Fitness #Wellness